Whilst daring greatly.

So, it seems Autumn is finally upon us, after what seems to have been an extremely LONG (not so hot) Summer.

If truth be told, I was thoroughly excited when I put on my first woolly jumper and scarf. I have tried to keep up the scarf trend all Summer as I have rather a fetish for them… however a tartan wooly scarf with shorts doesn’t quite go, no matter how hard you try.

I realise it has been pretty much 2 months since the last blog entry, but these endless Summer days somewhat got the better of me. I believe the Olympics were in town… but other than Danny Boyles spectacular Opening Ceremony and a welcome return of the Spice Girls they have had very little effect on me… I think I managed to briefly catch the diving (yes, I succumbed to the hype about Tom Daley) but that was about it.

I can’t really complain – amongst work work work and reading reading reading, I have been lucky enough to have been working in Italy with the internationally renowned company ELAN Frantoio on their new project BURN directed by Firenza Guidi.

Based on the classic novel Fahrenheit 451, it was a truly unique, eclectic, site-specific theatrical experience devised by a cast of 30 performers from Acting, Circus, Musical and Dance backgrounds and a fantastic technical team. I only wish more of you in England could have seen it! I don’t think any description of mine could quite do it justice, other than to say that it was an incredibly challenging but rewarding process and the show itself was pretty magical – set in the ruins of a Castle in the hills of Tuscany. It has been the highlight of my little Acting Career so far. For more information on the project, company and Firenzas UK based projects check out their website and video blogs!

Aside from BURN, I have still been hunting for that perfect play to produce with Poleroid in London next year – as mentioned in my previous blogs. After numerous meetings and a lot of play-reads with some fantastic young writers, I have narrowed down our choices and am very excited about the announcements we will be able to make soon. In the mean time, I am thrilled to reveal the brand new event which I am opening in London and I hope many of you will be able to get involved in…

POLEROID LAUNCHES “OPEN WRITE NIGHT”!

This Autumn, Poleroid Theatre will be launching their first OPEN WRITE NIGHT.

This new monthly event will function much like an Open Mic Night (hence the title) but will be aimed at theatrical young folk who have monologues/duologues/poetry they’ve written and want to try out on a mic in front of an audience in a really chilled out, non-rehearsed, script in hand, non-theatre environment.

Anyone can show their work as long as they submit it in time to make the running order or you can just come along and watch. We will also have a couple of slots at the end of the night for anyone who decides they want to try something out last minute (or perhaps writes it then and there…)

You can either perform your own material or get someone to read it for you. I hope this will be an opportunity for established writers to try out new material or for those of you who (like myself) fancy putting pen to paper but don’t have anything suitable for one of the classic ‘scratch-night’ short play evenings which are all over London.

More details on the date and venue of our first night to follow!

EVENTS NOT TO MISS THIS AUTUMN!

Speaking of new writing nights – myself and Rebecca Tanwen (Poleroid’s Breakout) will be performing an extract from WATER WINGS by up and coming writer Isley Lynn, directed by Adam Reeves (Poleroid’s Breakout) as part of the Old Red Lion’s WRITERS BLOC on the 24th September. Tickets are limited but if you want to see some quality new writing then book yours now!

Actress Joanna Bool (Poleroid’s FlickBook, Back2Back, Breakout) is also performing in an evening of 4 new plays called ON A SPREE at The Tristan Bates Theatre. So look out for her in BOY. GIRL. ROOM by Drew Ballantyne directed by Kamaal Hussain.

On a side note – you must try and catch Vickie Donoghue’s MUDLARKS which is playing at The Bush from the 18th September-20th October. After it’s huge success at both HighTide Festival and Theatre503 in 2011, it has succeeded in securing it’s transfer, which I have no doubt will place Vickie Donoghue firmly amongst the leading voices in Britain’s new writing scene. Vickie gives a unique, honest and powerful voice to a section of today’s youth that has yet to be fully addressed by other playwrights. I have been lucky enough to read it, so I personally can’t wait to see it played out and think it’s an absolute gem not to be missed.

Lastly – if you like musical theatre, keep an eye out for TWENTY SOMETHING: A newly established contemporary production company co-founded by Actors Benjamin Vivian-Jones and Amy-Jean Ward, bringing modern writers and talented TwentySomethings to a new audience. Their debut night  TWENTY TWELVE was a resounding success earlier this month and I anticipate there will be some very exciting projects simmering in the pipeline to be hitting London soon…!

I hope everyone has a lovely rest of September (I can’t believe it is nearing it’s end already… mental).  I always find this time of the year tends to be a bit frustrating, especially if no creative work presents itself. However, as the nights darken, we have a lot more time to be productive instead of lying down, succumbing to the sun so I’ll leave you with this speech which I always look to when in need of a ‘kick up the bum’.

It’s not the critic who counts, not the man who points out how the strong man stumbled, or when the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena; whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs and comes short again and again; who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions and spends himself in a worth cause; who at the best, knows in the end the triumph of high achievement; and who at the worst if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory or defeat. 

Theodore Roosevelt

Leave a Reply

